March: ELL Mother’s Day Lesson

Mothers Day

The email dialogue begun with Sylvia and JoAnn before leaving Seattle continued from New Zealand.  On request, they gave me a few ideas for some new lessons for 2009-10, then an urgent need arose.  A previous arrangement fell through, so they needed a Mother’s Day lesson for 5th May.

I started to throw a few ideas their way and received feedback and input in return.  I began writing a study in 1 Corinthians 13, but very quickly changed it to Psalm 139.  Everything seemed to fall into place.  I felt the Lord’s confirmation through conversations, radio messages and quiet times.  I did however wonder if I could complete it, given the fact that I was moving from house to house, visiting relatives and being available for the birth of a baby.

Then a wonderful week alone in my parents’ home came about.  The plan was for me to look after their dog when they visited relatives in another city, but the quiet eight days they gave me, enabled the completion of the Mother’s Day lesson.  I sent it off for editing early March.

It was received by the fabulous four (the wonderful ladies who edit and teach) with open arms.  They gave me some very helpful editing advice and the rewrite was to Sylvia for printing with almost six weeks to spare.  The process inspired me to think of a series called Celebrate The Year in Psalms, combining cultural events with appropriate Psalms.

A second writing task completed.

Leave a Reply

