October: Time To Give Thanks

I have been home now for exactly a month.  Dave should be joining me in about two weeks.  He has been doing the bulk of our packing and tying up the loose ends of our seven year sojourn in Seattle.

So what has our separation achieved?  I was home for my father’s 80th birthday; I have been home for some affordable health care; I have a jump start on job applications for the new school year; I have been able to catch up with family and friends; and I have had the space to write another ELL lesson.  This one is a celebration of Thanksgiving through a study of Psalm 65.  I called it Sing for Joy.

The content of this lesson has forced me to practise what I preach, to believe that my God is faithful and will provide for all my needs out of his riches in glory.  It has forced me to be thankful at a time of humiliation, a time when I have lost everything that this world values, everything for which I have spent my adult life working.

So, in the words of King David in Psalm 65…

“Thank you, Lord, for answering my prayers for forgiveness and letting me enter your presence to experience the good things there.

Thank you, Lord, for creating this beautiful world with your great power and strength, for this world that shows the beauty and magnificence of who you are.

Thank you, Lord, for caring for your world and enriching it abundantly, for crowning the year with your bounty.”

With the mountains and the meadows that are clothed in gladness, and mantled in grain, I shout for joy and I sing.  You are Jehovah Jireh, My Provider.  When I seek first your kingdom and your righteousness, the stuff of survival will be provided in beauty and abundance.  You dress the lilies of the field and feed the birds of the air.  How much better will you care for me.  So I thank you and I look forward to the exciting things ahead.

Leave a Reply

