December: Enrolled at Laidlaw

Laidlaw

Before arriving home and facing the unfortunate necessity of returning to teach, I had planned on writing a three year ESL Bible Study curriculum.  To faciliate that plan, I would enrol in the Laidlaw-Carey Centre for Distance Learning to do a Graduate Diploma of Theology.  All the while, I would continue to write.  I had consulted with the Fab Four and others about what such a curriculum should cover.

Then I became increasingly aware that although I knew how to research and write language lessons, and I had forty-five years of church attendance, Bible Class, and Bible study behind me, I really didn’t know what I didn’t know.

Then circumstances took over.  I applied for a nice quiet job as an ESOL teacher but it flew out the window when they offered me the Head of Faculty Languages instead.  I submitted to the change in plans but not without some regret and churn.  It would entail much more work and stress than I had planned.  For days, even weeks, I was depressed at the merry-go-round I had allowed myself to climb back onto.  I had been there before.  I knew what lay ahead.  I was already emotionally and physically exhausted.  Now I felt done in.

Then the Lord reminded me:

“Come unto me, all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me for I am gentle and humble of heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light."  Matthew 11:28-30

So, with my original dream of writing a three year ESL Bible Study curriculum still strongly enblazoned on my heart, I pushed ahead and enrolled part time at Laidlaw and I thought about what lessons I would write next.

By the time the first classes start, I expect I will have the funds, the home, and the time to do it justice.  I am hoping not just for a GradDipTheol, but also for a Master of Theology and maybe more.  There’s no stopping now!

Leave a Reply

