The usefulness of bit.ly

bitly

I have been intrigued recently by some unusual looking URLs used by tech-savvy colleagues and finally got around to asking about them.

They introduced me to the URL shortener, Bit.ly.  “Interesting, but why?”  I thought.

It was only when I wanted to link to a provocative presentation on muliculturalism and democracy in a Twitter post, that I had an answer.  140 characters and a Youtube URL do not mix.  Yet I hesitated… Not another online profile!  But curious, I did a search.  Brilliant!  No need to create a profile.  Just simply paste your long URL into a window, click convert and pick up your copy to paste.  Easy!

For example:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5vABdO3LcA&index=19&list=PL2NbtHLOznJ0N3_gzgUwz5da1SY0yRj8a  

becomes….

Message in 140 spaces achieved.  “Really interesting lecture on democracy and multilingualism at LSE. Are there implcations for AKL language policy?”

Leave a Reply

