Blog Analytics: Naval gazing or essential decision making?

It is fascinating to review the data analytics related to this blog but it somehow feels  like naval gazing: too much interest in oneself and one’s status.  Never-the-less, if one is to analyse the worth of continuing with an activity, or consider making changes in order to make it more worthwhile, then data analytics are essential tools to underpin decision making.

However, the stats for my blog are underwhelming.

Blog Analytics

Since my blog’s inception in July 2015, the most popular viewing day was August 11th after posting about using Google Drive for Teaching and Learning.  The day after there were 24 views, three comments, and two reblogs.  So why was this my most popular entry?  Let’s look at the big picture.  There are 46 posts, with 284 views by 74 visitors but only 5 followers.  The blog’s peak readership times are Tuesdays (29%) at 10pm (18%).  What might have triggered that activity?

Comments Follwers and Tags

As part of the 23 Things for Research professional development programme, participants were asked to find an interesting article written by other participants to reblog.  They would have posted themselves on Monday and then started looking for posts to reblog on Tuesday.  They would have done this when they had time, that is, after work and dinner.  Two of those 23 Things for Research professionals must have found my article sufficiently interesting to reblog.  Two out of how many?

What I have found fascinating to discover from the analytics is where my readers are from and it has set me to wondering how they found my blog.  Tags?  Headings?  Interesting.

 Readers Origens

So overall, my stats are interesting, even if underwhelming.  However, I did say near the beginning of the journey, that the pleasure of blogging came not so much from being read as from having my thoughts clarified as I wrote.

So that returns me to naval gazing and decision making.  Am I happy not being read very much?  I think so.  If my career depended upon it maybe not so much but my career is nearing its end.  It would be nice to think, however, that after four decades of teaching, I might have something of interest to others to write about.  If I did, how would they know where to find it?  That is the real question.

Maybe I could start cross-posting from my Twitter account?  After all, at the moment I have only five followers for my blog but 11 for my Twitter account.  So here’s a start: To celebrate ending the #23research course, I have declared on Twitter that I am a computer person!

Leave a Reply

