Qualified to Serve

wisdom

Wisdom will enter your heart, and knowledge will be pleasant to your soul        (Proverbs 2:10 NIV).

 

 

My years of reading and thinking and writing for my EdD are coming to an end. I have a submission date now and am already planning my return to the big smoke from my seaside sabbatical in Tairua.

At the meeting with my supervisors last week, I raised what I might do with the knowledge I have gained so I don’t slide into a depression after completing such an opus as so many others say they have done. The fact that I have a job waiting for me makes a difference for certain but I will have to find ways to ease back into the ordinary again with its workload and stress without it destroying me. During this year of study leave, I have been able to create my own timetable, a luxury for most but especially for a teacher who has had bells ringing change of period and change of direction every hour for four decades. I have been able to sleep till I wake in the morning or work till the wee hours following an interesting idea. No more! In three months I return to the tiring and stressful work reality of the classroom teacher, having tasted the peaceful and pensive reality of  retirement to come.

With these anxious thoughts churning at the back of my mind for some time now, it was comforting to be reminded in this morning’s devotional about personal growth with a CV-like description of Daniel, of lion’s den fame:

Showing aptitude for every kind of learning, well informed, quick to understand, and qualified to serve (Daniel 1:4 NIV).

It was also a good reminder of my life’s goal, wisdom, and a fresh modus operandi for moving forward.

Leave a Reply

