Final Steps

Portrait Of Man Reading Book at a libraryImage from: https://www.brainscape.com

Last week I followed a supervisor’s advice to read my ready-to-submit thesis aloud as a final editing step before going to print. My goodness!  I should have done this much earlier. I was amazed that after so many reviews, I still found typos and poorly formed sentences.

I therefore recommend this excellent strategy. It might be  good to use it at least twice during the final stages of writing, firstly before submitting the first draft of all thesis chapters, and then once again before going to print.

I was surprised, however, just how time consuming this exercise is and just how much energy it takes. I was exhausted afterwards even though it was undertaken over several days.

An added bonus is the production effect, that is, what we read out loud we remember better.

One thought on “Final Steps

Leave a Reply

